Skip to main content

Imperative Movement Zoom Webinar - 4/17/2020

Date: Friday, April 17, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Time zone:

12 noon Pacific

1 p.m. Mountain (Mark’s time)

2 p.m. Central

3 p.m. Eastern

Summary Description: Imperative Movement can be broken down into two parts:

1. The first part is about the word Imperative. Imperative means that it is non-negotiable. It’s something that must be.  For life, there must be water. For humans to live, we must have oxygen.  Imperative means, “there is no alternative.”

2. By adding the second word, “Movement” to imperative, it means something that humanity has considered optional. But movement is not optional.  Go back 2,000 years to survive; we were required to move to live, hunt, farm and travel on foot.

We enlisted the help of animals to help us move heavy loads, but, in large part….we moved ourselves.  Fast forward to the 1900s and the Industrial Revolution.  Men and women began making machines to help us move from place to place…the bicycle became motorized, so did trains, planes and automobiles.  And now, with further technology, we have scooters, hoverboards, and even squirrel suits.

Guest presenter: Mark Lucas, Executive Director of the United States Association of Blind Athletes

For more than 30 years, though sport, recreation and physical activity, Mark Lucas has dedicated his life to positively impacting the lives of people who are blind and visually impaired including leading the U.S. Association of Blind Athletes as the Executive Director for the past 16 years.

Lucas serves as USABA’s chief spokesperson on sports for people who are blind, including at the U.S. Olympic Committee and internationally.

Lucas who has a Bachelor of Science in Recreation Administration from The Ohio State University and Master’s Degree from California State University in Therapeutic Recreation is recognized as an effective leader in the field of blindness most notable in 2013 received by a nomination of his peers the Vision Serve Alliance Most Distinguish Leader Award and the American Optometry Association 2013 Distinguished Service Award.

In 2019, Lucas will Co-Chair the International Blind Sports Association World Goalball & Judo Paralympic Qualifying Tournament in Ft. Wayne, IN; June 30-July 10.

He immensely enjoys serving as a guide runner for blind athletes, and last year he successfully guided the first blind runner in the Pikes Peaks International Marathon which ascends to 14,111 feet in a time of 11 hours and 31 minutes.

Zoom Information Coming Soon. Select the link below to learn more!


https://www.oib-tac.org/events/2020/02/imperative-movement-zoom-webinar/

Back to event listings